Posted by: Autism Speaks | April 15, 2010

Why I Walk for Autism: For my Grandson

This post was guest written by Judy Welch, a participant in the Central New Jersey Walk Now for Autism Speaks.

I walk for my grandson Hunter, so I can look forward to the day he can tell us his hopes and dreams.

Hunter at the Mercer County Special Olympics (2 Gold and 1 Silver)

Hunter can recite almost every Disney movie, start to finish, changing his voice with each character; he can read any book given to him; he can do most of this in English and Spanish. He can work any VCR, DVD or computer he comes in contact with.

He lights up a room with his smile when he walks into it. He laughs and sings.

He brings so much love to us. We believe one day Hunter will be able to have a real conversation.

Hunter can go outside with bare feet when it is cold, and not seem to notice.

Hunter lives in the moment; he cannot verbalize his experience after it is over. He recites movie, song, or phrase he has seen or been told, over and over, AND OVER.

I walk because I believe Hunter has something to say.

I walk because I believe Hunter wants friends and love in his life.

I walk because I believe there is an answer. I see Hunter learn everyday, he has learned he wants to be in our world.

THIS IS WHY I WALK

Visit Judy’s Page

Responses

  1. I also have a beautiful, smart grandson who is Aspbergers/Austistic. I will do all in my power to assist him to become everything he can be.

    I will walk in the up coming Michigan events. Thanks for sending info along.

  2. I want to form a walk here in Weatherford,Tx. How did this grandmother get started…. and how can I without it costing money for us ? I am raising my grandson who is autistic. PLEASE contact ASAP

    Cynthia Henry Davis
    (phone number redacted)

    • Cynthia,
      Thank you for your offer to help! Please contact our Texas office at 972960-6228. Thank you! Patty

    • Hi Cynthia, Thank you so much for your interest in starting a Walk in Weatherford! The best way to get started is to contact the staff at the Dallas/Forth Worth Walk Now for Autism Speaks at dallas@autismspeaks.org or (866) 409-6227.

  3. Judy, I wanted you to know that your letter really inspired me. I walk for my granddaughter who is also very special.
    My granddaughter wouldn’t let me hold her or even look directly at her until she was almost four years old. It broke my heart. Now she can’t get enough of grampa and enjoys sitting in my lap telling me stories.
    With the support of organizations like Autism Speaks and SARRC a strong family unit can make a big difference for our special kids. I can’t wait for the day I watch the video you post of Hunter addressing us all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

