Posted by: Autism Speaks | October 1, 2009

Why I Walk: For Tery

Tery St Paddy's Day 2009

 I walk for my son, Tery, and all others that have faced the hurdles that he has. As a non-verbal 23-year-old, he has faced, and is facing many obstacles in his life. What we would have given to have had a cure or an answer early on. Tery is at the far end of the spectrum and has been quite a challenge, not only to us, but to the Gompers Center where he goes in the day. Luckily, they have worked very well with us and we seem to finally be getting him leveled out some between their help and the help of the Melmed Center.

I walked for the first time last year and was absolutely blown away by the energy and participation of everyone. I was excited every step of the way. I formed our team, Cul-de-sac Crusaders, and started in very unfamiliar territory … and loved it! I have registered again this year and hope to double our monies raised last year! Go Phoenix Walk on November 1st!

By Susan R. Lofton

Would you like to share with our community why you walk? Please send 300 words or fewer and a photo to us at
editors@autismspeaks.org.

Responses

  1. […] Why I Walk: For Tery « The Official Walk Now for Autism Speaks Blog walknowforautismspeaks.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/why-i-walk-for-tery – view page – cached I walk for my son, Tery, and all others that have faced the hurdles that he has. As a non-verbal 23-year-old, he has faced, and is facing many obstacles in his life. What we would have given to have… (Read more)I walk for my son, Tery, and all others that have faced the hurdles that he has. As a non-verbal 23-year-old, he has faced, and is facing many obstacles in his life. What we would have given to have had a cure or an answer early on. Tery is at the far end of the spectrum and has been quite a challenge, not only to us, but to the Gompers Center where he goes in the day. Luckily, they have worked very well with us and we seem to finally be getting him leveled out some between their help and the help of the Melmed Center. (Read less) — From the page […]

    • Hello my name is Lisa Cochran. I have a 6 yr old who is non verbal. He has very few words and he is severely autistic. How have you maded this far? It is a constant struggle for me everyday. We stay in san antonio tx so we have some good services!! Keep up the good work!!

      • You take it one day at a time. If you have good services that is half the battle. Due to economy ours are getting leaner every day.
        Does your son have many behavioral issues? Is he on any medications? We have battled with behavior blow-ups for so long. This last year while tweaking meds, we are finally starting to see some relief in that area. I wish you all the best!

  2. You must be quite an amazing parent. God bless you and help you to move forward with your son.

    • We as parents…step-parents, adopted or foster do what we have to. I had never even heard of Autism. What an awakening. We will keep on moving forward and hopefully by the grace of God…will reach an end where Tery comes out of his Autism. Thank you.

  3. Wonderful story!!! My son Spencer is 3 1/2 and although he can speak he is only at 400 words and only says 1 to 2 of them at a time…. he was non verbal from 14 months old to about 28 months old… although I cannot say “I know how you feel” since my son is no longing completely non verbal… I definitely can understand from having an Autistic child. Kudos to you for starting your own team and raising awareness!!!!

    • Kudos to you too. You did not give up on your son and are working with him to see that he has it easier by being verbal. I pray that one day Tery will be able to speak more…to just be able to hold a conversation long enough to find out what he has been thinking all of these years. I always wonder what is going on around in his head…he always looks so deep in thought. I swear he talks to his left hand…we say it must be the one that holds his angel :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

