Posted by: Autism Speaks | September 29, 2009

Minnesota Walk Now for Autism Speaks

Minnesota Walk 2009

The third annual Minnesota Walk Now for Autism Speaks took place on September 26, as 2,500 people walked the track at Canterbury Park, a thoroughbred racetrack in Shakopee, Minn., raising $144,000. Although rain was predicted, when Walk day arrived, the sky was blue and it was 75 degrees outside. Walkers were entertained by emcees Dave and Pam from media sponsor KTIS’ Morning Show and motivated by the Minnesota Vikings cheerleaders and the Southwest All Star’s Cheer Team. More than forty autism-related resource vendors were on site to provide local information and resources to walkers. Special thanks to 2009 Minnesota Walk Co-Chairs Denise Kanieski and Linda Kirby for their outstanding leadership. Also, thanks to all of the volunteer members of the 2009 Minnesota Walk Committee for all of their efforts and contributions. Read more and view additional photos from the Minnesota Walk and become a fan of the Minnesota Walk on Facebook.

Responses

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. […] Walk Now for Autism Speaks events took place on September 26 – British Columbia, Minnesota,  Philadelphia, Portland,  San Diego and Western New […]

  3. I would like information on the walk in support of autism. I have a nephew who has autism and is 10 years old. I love him with all my heart!

  4. I would like information on the walk in support of autism.

  5. I am just wondering if there are any walks in Duluth, MN. My son was diagnosed with Autism in Jan and I am trying to find help and support. I would like to build a network of people that have knowledge that I would also be able to pass on to others. Thank you

    • Hi Cathie,
      Thank you for your interest! The only walk currently in MN is in Shakopee. They can definitely help you get something started in your area. Please contact minnesota@autismspeaks.org.


Leave a Reply

Categories

